What I should write when I have nothing substantial to say here

  I guess the first instinct is to do a full search of any meaningful philosophic topics that passed through my head over the past week. And indeed there were some. Here is my subtle analogy between the life of a human being and a regular waking day from sunrise to sunset. It has been saliently observed by the ancients how people’s mood change as time progresses during a day as well as through all phases of life. Here I just want to emphasize a rather striking point in such parallelism, namely, one is selfish in the beginning, and grows increasingly broad minded and almost patronizing towards his end. That is so true in my case, because whenever I woke up in the morning, the first thing that occurs to me is I want to get more of that succulent, indulging sleep, til I get enough of it (like the early Jackson song). It was only social responsibility that forces me out of my selfish fantasies. I am also naturally afraid of cold weather, which could be construed as greed for energy. But one might argue that I might be genuinely deprived of such resources as warmth and good rest. To counter that point, selfish people do tend to claim that they need all the resources they are craving for on a perpetual cycle.
   As I move through the day’s numerous episodes, experiencing all the flavor of human sentiments, and more important engaging in the active appreciation of them with reason, I became mentally more aware of my current situation, which usually is more favorably situated than the stark contrast between reality and dream at first would entail. So I start to embrace the real world more and more forcefully, until the point when I simply couldn’t give it up for the proper bridging with the next day’s journey. And that’s when my bedtime alarm runs off to warn me of the dire consequence of sleep deprivation for next day’s classes. But my fondness of the temporal world simply wards off such warning and continue the pursuit of happiness. But maybe it’s not happiness after all for which I was willing to ignore my biological clock. Something deeper, perhaps the desire to fulfill the present day’s opportunity, that urged me to make the personal sacrifice. The analogy with the life cycle enters in because elders also tend to want to maximize their utility to society by going into politics in the case of social workers, or continuing with research and teaching duties as emeritus in the case of academics. One often yearns for completeness of some sort. That’s what motivated most people to spend painful years completing their degrees in college and graduate school, despite the increasingly acknowledged fact that a diploma is only good for the first job you get. Indeed people who strive for completeness are the pillars of social stability, because their personal goals coincide so well with societal ones. They are less likely to become grasshoppers in workplaces, more aimed at long term benefit rather than short-term profit, and prefer an accumulation of knowledge and wealth, rather than some sort of growth spurt. My point is, people learn to think on a more global scale and overcome the natural defects of their own creation through the alliance with other human beings, a process that is initially enforced out of necessity, but later on becomes self-sustainable.
 
 
About aquazorcarson

math PhD at Stanford, studying probability
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

