Regaining momentum from virtual experience

    The one major advancement of civilization starts with the invention of written language; it marks the beginning of what I call virtual experience. But the coded correspondence with reality must be established at an early age. That’s why despite my youthful eagerness to learn, I could not escape the fate of relapsing into my childhood reading habit, in my native language.
  I have recently picked up with Ni Kuang’s Wesley series, a fantastically written first person narrative that does not humble itself in front of the western sci-fi giants. In fact, Mr. Ni’s experience with martial art writing, unique perhaps to Chinese authors, has enabled him to stretch his imagination in a rather systematic manner, by which I mean all the odds and ends in his story form a theoretical liaison that enriches its authenticity. As usual, whenever I found value in a book I usually identify with the protagonist, but it is not someone I would have identified with say 2 years ago. Back then I was in my dreamy existence of some rather intangible, amorphous post-modern knighthood, inspired mostly by my favorite manga and video game from childhood. It’s strange that change happens not by declaring it, but through its necessity. The law of physics never changes, but maybe when technology deems it desirable, it will have to yield to the human willpower. But my change of perspective from a dragon-slaughterer to a modest resourceful maverick was not evoked overnight, but rather through numerous little steps of self-searching and self-adjustments. It can hardly be emphasized that the pain of living up to the reality is what caused me to seek those changes, some of which I have envisioned to occur much earlier than necessary. But one thing I gain from reimmersing myself in these fantasy world is that I gain virtual strength in a world that might be real; but the notion of transience can easily stifle the panic caused by such mismatch, and indeed I acquire a transient attitude by periodically subjecting myself to the author’s verbal conditioning. I am all the more grateful for such tremendous human being whose energetic pace keeps my drifting spirit alive.
About aquazorcarson

math PhD at Stanford, studying probability
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

