The woe of lectures

I woke up this morning early as usual. Despite deep deprivation of sleep, I had to drag myself into work mode because two major assignments were due this afternoon. So as expected, I didn’t find any inspiration doing the finance homework because I have been out of touch with it for so long. All I could do is searching for exact answer to the two wordy problems in my textbook. It turns out I do function a lot better in the morning because whatever didn’t seem clear to me last night due to weariness and readiness to bed became more accessible, to say the least. But then the only hanging fear was the fact I had to deal with classes later at 11 am. So at around 10am I am debating furiously whether I should go to class or not. Honestly, I know I won’t benefit much from going because the knowledge absorbed in class is always transient, unless I spend more time outside the classroom fortifying it. What’s more detrimental is the fact that classes always interrupt my current stream of thought, be it problem solving or understanding the logical flow of a gigantic mathematical theory. So I was almost certainly not going to lecture until at 10:50 something deep down in my pious heart says I shouldn’t start a lazy cycle. And indeed I regretted whole-heartedly for wasting a bunch of time in Europe, but nonetheless I did get something done in the end, which was gratifying and somehow contraditory to my assertion that hard work produces good results. But the news soon arrives from Jason, a colleague of mine, expert in the field of my interest, who usually only receives call from me, except never picks up the phone, that the classes might be cancelled. So I followed his hint of looking through my email, and sure enough, the professor had an accident, falling off a piece of ice in a nearby lake, probably over the weekend. So what a relief! And it came with such timeliness I couldn’t help think it’s providential. So the rest of the day was cruised off rather smoothly. I solved the problems I thought I’d never have a chance of solving. They weren’t reputably easy, especially the ones from stochastic differential equations. I am amazed at my efficiency, especially after  talking with another genius of the department, Aaron Smith, who usually has such superb reflex when it comes to mathematics that I only have the opportunity to catch my breath in front of him. And in fact I was able to contribute something original this time, despite lacking the kind of grace and felicity he usually brings in with his results. So all told, classes slow my thinking down and I can really function up to my desired standards when no such hairsplitting matters are in my way.
About aquazorcarson

math PhD at Stanford, studying probability
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

