meditation

  This is a retrospective entry. Such entries are written whenever I am extremely unproductive and bored to death, as is evident in the first two sentences of meaningly ramble already. Anyway, I went to a group discussion on meditation led by some psychology graduate students by the name of Emma something. Before I entered the room I thought it was gonna be a big lecture, so I was slightly disappointed by the format of presentation. She appeared quite shy at first, or gingerly maybe. So I pretended I had a quite feminine, geeky voice also, although I understood any minute facetiousness couldn’t possibly escape a trained psychologist’s eyes. The discussion was at first about why we chose to come in the first place. I cited a few reasons: to help improve my productivity is the main one. Then we plunged into some recent research results on the subject, including how Tibetan monks have so much self control that even if you snap a gunshot in a quiet room that they sit in they won’t stir a bit during a meditation. But what really impressed me, although I had such knowledge before, is that when a company had its employees practicing meditation on a daily base for a month, their immunity to common cold virus gets improved by 50% as compared to a control group! This is more than pseudo science, and I think will rebuff powerfully many skeptics of psychology as a valid scientific discipline, most notably in my own math department. Of course the critical component of what makes it a science, namely first principle justification, is still lacking. Nevertheless we see a major breakthrough in discovery of human behaviorism, which is much more utile than many abstract results obtained in hard science, whose real practicality is dubious. I am not criticizing my own subject; doing so will amount to career-wise suicide. But sometimes one must jump outside the box and have a broader view of humanity and intellectualism in general.
   So in the end I again contributed my feeling of the effect of meditation on me, which was conducted briefly during the session we meet. My first instinct was to say that I was really bored in the process, and indeed that’s what I uttered. But what’s more important is that I felt more energized to do some work whose sheer volume used to scare me off, like reading a bunch of math  research papers. That is, I have temporarily regained the momentum accumulated through four years of ultra-dumbing experience in high school, when math is taught like childplay and largely for bringing common sense to the inane crowd. That is indeed a good feeling. Maybe I will start joining a serious meditation group on campus sometime soon.
About aquazorcarson

math PhD at Stanford, studying probability
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

